Everyday events

Help! My home is turning into a Forest!

The whole of last month, I have been contemplating and planning- what should be the first piece of furniture I should buy for my new home in Mysore? The list was long- a dining table, bookshelf, sofa, bar unit, bean bag, a cot for my guest bedroom, so on and so forth. So it was not possible to buy all of them at one go. Also, it is way more fun doing this in parts – watch the house grow organically.

So after marinating this in my head for days and days, I spontaneously decided one evening to fix on the book shelf as my first furniture piece. After consulting the Sketchup model I have made of my house for size location, I ordered one.

Once the bookshelf arrived – suddenly the shoe rack that I had absolutely no issues with, started to look ugly. ” Keep it there for now, pick up a nice shoe rack next month”, said my best friend Sulu, during our weekly video calls.

But I couldn’t stand it. I couldn’t look at it for I more second, let alone a month? So after a few minutes of trying to conceal the shoerack within the corners of my house,I decided to get rid of it. ‘It served you for so many years, and all it took for you is a new bookshelf to throw it out,” Sulu said. But now, with the furniture in the room vanishing, my house looked oddly empty.

“Let’s buy a plant for the indoors”, I thought. I already had a few in the corridor outside, and they seem to be thriving, so why not try some indoors?

So at noon, under the scorching hot sun, I set out to the plant nursery. Bhudevi farms- near Kukkrahalli lake. Apparently it is over 70 years old, and it shows! An ocean of never ending green plants.

After an hour of confused selection, I ended up saying yes to all the plants the gardener showed me. I bought all of them home. One plant led to another, and then I was, in an auto filled with plants popping out from all sides. Big and beautiful, they have instantly transformed my home.

I am now obsessed- a new Pinterest board has been made – a house filled with plants. Hopefully these new friends are happy here with us!

Standard

Leave a comment